In 2012 the Royal National Hospital for Rheumatic Diseases [The Mineral Hospital] opened a small museum to showcase their collection. Now, with the imminent closure of the hospital in the centre of Bath, our museum has been granted custody of the Collection of the Min, which includes records dating back to the 1740s, artefacts, the paintings and other pieces of art from around the Hospital, memorabilia, and photographs relating to rheumatology, medicine and pharmacy.
We are a registered charity [Registered Charity: 1176084] and are run entirely by volunteers. The Museum is currently housed in the splendid old Chapel of the Hospital, built in 1881. Our activities include the compilation of oral histories from former patients and from those who have worked in the Min; school visits and talks to local groups and clubs.
We are pleased that, in addition to the RNHRD Collection, we also now have the John Kirkup Collection and many other artefacts which have been donated by private individuals. There is also a gradually growing library of historical texts and histories.
The museum has partnered with Bath Spa University to provide placements for undergraduates taking History and Heritage degrees, and for postgraduates on the Heritage Management Masters Degree.
All our Museum Guides are very knowledgeable about the Collection. They will be happy to answer your questions and will be pleased to demonstrate various pieces of equipment.
BMM is open 14.00 - 16.00 Mondays, and 10.00 - 12.00 on Fridays.